European Computer Driving Licence is an internationally recognised qualification in a 156 countries that allows people to show their ability in computer skills. Accredited by the British Computer Society (BCS) – the Chartered Institute for IT.

Our Centre has achieved Grade A in the yearly audit inspection for the past 8 years.

ECDL aims to raise the level of IT knowledge and capability of all computer users.

The ECDL syllabus is broken down into seven modules; a test for each must be passed before the ECDL certificate is awarded.

ECDL is designed to help people both at work and at home. It proves to employers that the person has recognised, relevant and up-to-date qualification in IT. For those new to computers, ECDL will provide you with a good base of computer skills helping you to use computers effectively.

The seven modules:

  1. Basic concepts of Information Technology
  2. Using the computer and managing files
  3. Word Processing
  4. Spread sheets
  5. Database
  6. Presentation
  7. Information and communication


If you have completed your ECDL and want to progress your skills or if you are already a ‘power user’ – ECDL Advanced is the qualification for you.

ECDL Advanced will allow you to demonstrate a higher level of computer skills. You can show employers that you are confident, competent and efficient in a range of applications.

You can take any of the modules individually to receive an ECDL Advanced certificate in that application or, if you complete all of the modules. You will receive an additional ECDL Expert certificate showing that you are truly expert in computer use!